CE CATEGORY European Directive 89/686/EEC

EN 420 General requirements and test methods

EN ISO 374: 2016

EN 374-2: 2014 Penetration resistance

CATEGORY I Minor risks. CATEGORY II Reversible risks (injury), certified compliant

by a notified body.

CATEGORY III Irreversible risks (corrosion), certified compliant and tested by a notified body whose number is specified.

Technical information*

Glove markings


Level of dexterity (1 to 5)

Innocuousness of the glove

* Printed on the packaging or on the user instruction of SHOWA gloves. For further details, contact your distributor or visit the website www.showagroup.com

The standard defines requirement the capability of gloves to protect the user against penetration, permeation and degradation by chemicals and microorganisms. It classifies three types of gloves by level of protection (A, B, and C).

The gloves must pass the air leak and/or water leak test, and meet the defined AQL inspection level. In an air leak test the interior of glove is pressurized with air and the surface is checked for holes. In a water leak test the glove is filled with water, and checked for the appearance of water droplets on the outside surface after a defined time period.

AQL (accepted quality level) is a measure of quality assurance based on random sampling procedure according to ISO 2859-1 used by manufacturers for measuring the likelihood of pinhole defects in a batch of gloves. An AQL of 1,5 accepts the statistical probability that there are less than 1,5% of the gloves with defects in the batch.

The European Directive 89/686/EEC on PPE is in process of being superseded by a new PPE Regulation (EU) 2016/425. The new Regulation, that introduces revisions in several PPE standards such as EN 388 and EN 374, was published in the Official Journal of the

European Union on 31st March 2016 and will be applied from 21st April 2018. Our new and

existing gloves may not be certified according to this new Regulation until 21st April 2018.

The existing certificates according to the Directive will remain valid until 21st April 2023.

For more information on the revision of the Directive and its implications, please visit the

SHOWA group website.

Performance level Acceptable quality level unit Inspection levels Level 3 < 0,65 G1 Level 2 < 1,5 G1 Level 1 < 4,0 S4